ArtTable Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts Award

Apr 16, 2013 4:32PM

In 2003, as a special gesture to ArtTable and the leading women it honors, Louise Bourgeois created an unnumbered edition, cast bronze sculpture to represent the Award for Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts. EYE (cast bronze and silver nitrate with a polished patina) is cast each year in commendation to our awardee. 

This year, at our 20th Annual Award Ceremony and Benefit luncheon, ArtTable will honor Patricia Phelps de Cisneros with the Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts Award for her contributions and support of art and culture internationally. Ms. Phelps de Cisneros' influence on education and the arts in Latin America exemplifies ArtTable's vision of leadership.

More about the award:
In 1993, after a decade of activity, ArtTable affirmed its commitment to recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of professional women in the visual arts by establishing an annual honor: the Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts Award.

The first award was presented to then NYSCA Chairman Kitty Carlisle Hart at a luncheon with three hundred in attendance. This annual convening of members and guests has grown to become the Annual Benefit Luncheon and Award Ceremony, a time-honored ArtTable tradition with a yearly program highlighting the most engaging art world issues and their proponents. Keynote speakers have included Jane Alexander, Hillary Clinton, Lisa Dennison, Richard Holbrooke, Caroline Kennedy, Kate D. Levin, Toni Morrison, Gloria Steinem, Kirk Varnedoe, and Maya Lin.

The Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts Award acknowledges and celebrates remarkable leadership in the arts. Just as ArtTable members work in public and private, for-profit and not-for-profit contexts, the annual award honors leadership in all aspects of the arts. Its recipients exemplify ArtTable’s dedication to the lasting impact of the visual arts on our shared cultural life. 

Previous awardees include Kitty Carlisle Hart 1993, Agnes Gund 1994, Emily Rauh Pulitzer 1995, Dianne Pilgrim 1996, Joan Mondale 1997, Stephanie French 1998, Lucy Lippard 1999, Marcia Tucker 2000, Paula Cooper 2001, Iris Cantor 2002, Linda Nochlin 2003, Elizabeth C. Baker 2004, Elizabeth A. Sackler 2006, Emily K. Rafferty 2007, Vishakha N. Desai 2008, Toby Devan Lewis 2009, Yoko Ono 2010, Lila Harnett 2011, Patricia E. Harris 2012