Time Lapse: an evolving exhibition of small works

Tin-aw Art Gallery
Jul 19, 2015 10:48AM

Time lapse is a photography technique whereby the frequency at which frames are captured is lower than that used to view the sequence - in other words, it is a technical procedure that makes time move faster.


Tin-aw Art Gallery applies this concept in its upcoming exhibition where over 50 artists will submit small-format artworks of any medium, and hang them to fill the gallery walls. The installation process will be documented in a time lapse video to show how the exhibition evolves from a single hung frame into a gallery of small works displayed in salon-style.


The French Salon was a democratic turning point when artists began to respond to a public audience rather than monarchial imposition. In a similar vein, the artists participating in "Time Lapse" are invited to hang their works where they want to and how they want to without adhering to curatorial oversight. The only over seeing, so to speak, will be the camera documenting the evolution and processes involved in putting together the exhibition, condensing several days of installation into a short video.


In line with the use of technology for the show, a series of talks will be given by artists who work on electronics projects. On 18 July, the "Builder's Depot" (comprised of artists including Martha Atienza, Erick Calilan, Ian Jaucian, Pow Martinez and Tengal) will share the intricacies of video, robotics and sound art. On 25 July, Mark Justiniani will share his use of mirrors and light to create visual illusions.


"Time Lapse" will run from 16 to 30 July 2015. Tin-aw Art Gallery is located on the upper ground floor of Somerset Olympia Building, Makati Avenue, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines. For more information, please contact +63 8927522 or [email protected].

Featured Artists:

Ambie Abaño, Leo Abaya, Bea Alcala, Pope Bacay, Renz Baluyot, Renato Barja, Ralph Barrientos, Lawrence Borsoto, Mars Bugaoan, Ian Cadiong, Imelda Cajipe Endaya, Pin Calacal, Jef Carnay, Jonathan Ching, Mariano Ching, Jayson Cortez, Cian Dayrit, Thomas Daquioag, Guen Decena, Reynold dela Cruz, Randalf Dilla, Beth Doctolero, Ferdinand Doctolero, Noell El Farol, Arvi Fetalvero, Gab Ferrer, Marc Gaba, Paola Germar, Eric Guazon, Renato Habulan, Denise Heredia, Troy Ignacio, JC Jacinto, Bree Jonson, Juliet Lea, Romeo Lee, Dindo Llana, Kurt Lluch, Agus Kama Loedin, Jojo Lofranco, Noli Principe Manalang, Fitz Ocampo, Renan Ortiz, Henrielle Pagkaliwangan, Lee Paje, Neil Pasilan, Veronica Pee, Kelly Ramos, Archie Ruga, Kirby Roxas, Don Salubayba, Erik Sausa, Ayra Sayat, Jukus Sepada, Ioannis Sicuya, Rick Simpson, Jun-jun Sta. Ana, Adeo Sta. Juana, Nicole Tee, Jay Ticar, Pancho Villanueva, Alvin Villaruel, Jay Yao, Costantino Zicarelli

Tin-aw Art Gallery