Stefano Arienti

Italian, b. 1961

100 followers
Follow

Stefano Arienti

Italian, b. 1961

100
Followers
Biography

Working in the tradition of Arte Povera, Stefano Arienti is best known for his subtle transformations of printed matter and found objects and images—including postcards, comic books, carpets, zippers, and wallpaper—that he alters through minimal gestures like folding, puncturing, dyeing with pigment, or sewing. Works include delicate hand-folded paper sculptures, sliced book covers, and even posters sewn with zippers, all with which Arienti strives to create “material disorientation” so that the viewer discovers that the seemingly banal also contains wonder.

Related Categories
Career Highlights
Learn more about artist insights.
Group
Group show at a major institution
The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), and 3 more
Publication
Reviewed by a major art publication
Artforum, and 2 more
Fair
Included in a major biennial
Venice Biennale International Exhibition, and 1 more
Biography

Working in the tradition of Arte Povera, Stefano Arienti is best known for his subtle transformations of printed matter and found objects and images—including postcards, comic books, carpets, zippers, and wallpaper—that he alters through minimal gestures like folding, puncturing, dyeing with pigment, or sewing. Works include delicate hand-folded paper sculptures, sliced book covers, and even posters sewn with zippers, all with which Arienti strives to create “material disorientation” so that the viewer discovers that the seemingly banal also contains wonder.

Career Highlights
Learn more about artist insights.
Group
Group show at a major institution
The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), and 3 more
Publication
Reviewed by a major art publication
Artforum, and 2 more
Fair
Included in a major biennial
Venice Biennale International Exhibition, and 1 more