Dieter Roth, ‘Uvigs Bank Islands (from eighteen small prints)’, 1973, Bernard Jacobson Gallery

The full portfolio, 18 Small Prints, was published in 1973.

Bernard Jacobson and Peter Blake produced together the idea for the 18 Small Prints series, soon after 14 Big Prints series was finished. The concept was to produce prints that were almost postcard size. A number of artists from the previous series, such as Patrick Caulfield, Ed Ruscha and Eduardo Paolozzi, but also some new names were added.

Publisher: Bernard Jacobson Gallery

About Dieter Roth

Considered one of the most influential European artists of the post-war period, Dieter Roth produced artworks in a great range of media, from artist’s books, graphics, drawings, and sculptures, to assemblages and installations including sound, music, and video. In 1954 Roth started to make experimental works, including his first baked sculpture (a spiral made from bread dough), forays into Op art, and kinetic sculptures. In the ’60s he made pictures and objects that incorporated chocolate and other edible materials subject to decomposition—meditations on time, decay, and metamorphosis. Critics often note that there was little to separate Roth’s life from his work; his artwork, Fussboden (Floor, 1975–92), for example, was comprised of a wooden studio floor covered with pigment and glue. To create the work, Roth removed the floor from his studio in Iceland and hung it like a painting, allowing it to function as a readymade record of his practice.

Swiss, 1930-1998, Hannover, Germany, based in Reykjavik, Iceland