Auction Closed

Critical Resistance: Imagine Freedom - Art Works for Abolition: Live Benefit Auction 2020

Auction Closed
Live auction

Critical Resistance x Artsy are honored to present Imagine Freedom: Art Works for Abolition, a 2020 Art Auction Benefit, featuring works by Kwame Brathwaite, Lava Thomas, Kenturah Davis, Theaster Gates, Wangari Methenge, Hank Willis Thomas, and more. Over 75 of the most influential artists of our time are using their voices and creative practice to amplify the movement to abolish the prison industrial complex. These artists have generously sprung into action to support the ongoing grassroots organizing efforts of Critical Resistance. View our Online Program & Catalog HERE.

The Live Auction featuring auctioneer Gabriel Butu, includes works by Kenturah Davis, Theaster Gates, Wangari Mathenge, Paul Mpagi Sepuya, Shawn Theodore, Lava Thomas, and Hank Willis Thomas.

Bidding in the Live Auction begins on Tuesday, October 13th at 6:30pm PDT (9:30pm EDT), when all pre-registered Artsy users can participate and watch the bidding unfold in real time. Registration (required to place bids) will close 45 minutes before the Live Auction starts.

The Live Auction is part of our Virtual Closing Event + Live Auction program on Tuesday, October 13th, 6:00 - 7:30pm PDT (9:00 - 10:30pm EDT). Learn more and RSVP here.

Bidding in the Silent Auction is open from September 29th at 9:00am (12:00pm EDT) - October 14th at 1:00pm PDT (4:00pm EDT). Join us for a Virtual Cocktail Hour to celebrate the opening of the auction on Tuesday, September 29th at 5:00 - 6:00pm PDT (8:00 - 9:00pm EDT). Learn more and RSVP here.

Each work ships from a different location, as noted on the individual lot page. Shipping costs are the responsibility of the buyer.

The Imagine Freedom: Art Works for Abolition Curatorial Committee includes: Ashara Ekundayo (Curator), Hans Kuzmich, Jess Heaney, Maya Futrell, Mieke Marple, Shirley Leslie, T Rasheed, William Ramirez.

Banner Image: Shawn Theodore, “Masked,” 2017, courtesy of ParisTexasLA