MacArthur Genius Grant Winners

Each year since 1981, the Chicago-based John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation has awarded “genius” grants to artists, scientists, and other innovators who receive $625,000 over the course of five years to use freely in pursuit of their talents. This year’s grant winners include Mel Chin, Cameron Rowland, Sarah Michelson, and Jeffrey Gibson, the Choctaw-Cherokee painter and sculptor also featured in The Artsy Vanguard 2019. Below, browse available works by these revered artists as well as former grant winners—Kara Walker, Alfredo Jaar, and Kerry James Marshall, among them—and discover an opportunity to bring home a creation of “genius.”

Featured Artists
52 Artworks:
Filter by
52 Artworks:
This is based on the artwork’s average dimension.

More like MacArthur Genius Grant Winners