Skip to Main Content
Critical Resistance: Imagine Freedom - Art Works for Abolition: Benefit Auction 2020

Critical Resistance: Imagine Freedom - Art Works for Abolition: Benefit Auction 2020

Critical Resistance x Artsy are honored to present Imagine Freedom: Art Works for Abolition, a 2020 Art Auction Benefit, featuring works by Kwame Brathwaite, Lava Thomas, Kenturah Davis, Theaster Gates, Wangari Methenge, Hank Willis Thomas, and more. Over 75 of the most influential artists of our time are using their voices and creative practice to amplify the movement to abolish the prison industrial complex. These artists have generously sprung into action to support the ongoing grassroots organizing efforts of Critical Resistance. View our Online Program & Catalog HERE.

The Silent Auction is open for bidding from September 29th at 9:00am PDT (12:00pm EDT) - October 14th at 1:00pm PDT (4:00pm EDT). Join us for a Virtual Cocktail Hour to celebrate the opening of the auction on Tuesday, September 29th from 5:00 - 6:00pm PDT. Learn more and RSVP here.

The Live Auction begins on Tuesday, October 13th at 6:30pm PDT (9:30pm EDT), as part of our Virtual Closing Event + Live Auction program on Tuesday, October 13th, 6:00 - 7:30pm PDT (9:00 - 10:30pm EDT). Learn more and RSVP here.

Over the past 20 years, Critical Resistance (CR) has reinvigorated the movement to dismantle the systems of prisons, policing, and surveillance, which heavily target Black life and other People of Color in the United States and internationally. To this end, Critical Resistance has defeated jail expansion efforts, chipped away at policing, and advanced the struggle against imprisonment and police militarization, in favor of health and community self-determination.

Founded in 1998 by well-known abolitionist organizers Rose Braz (presente!), Angela Y. Davis, and Ruth Wilson Gilmore, Critical Resistance seeks to build an international movement to end the prison industrial complex by challenging the belief that caging and controlling people makes us safe. Critical Resistance believes that basic necessities such as food, shelter, and freedom are what really make our communities secure. “Imagine Freedom: Art Works for Abolition comes at a crucial time of mass political understanding of the role of prisons and the history of the police state,” says Ashara Ekundayo, art consultant and curator for the auction. “CR is creating pathways between the public imagination and actual praxis for organizing – demanding an overall end to ideals and structures that uphold the prison industrial complex.”

Proceeds will enable Critical Resistance to continue to organize, mobilize, invigorate their base, and expand their work in this crucial time. Also, importantly, exhibiting artists receive up to 30% commission on the sale of their work.

To make a contribution to sustain CR and its decades-long commitment to prison industrial complex abolition, please donate HERE.

Each work ships from a different location, as noted on the individual lot page. Shipping costs are the responsibility of the buyer.

The The Imagine Freedom: Art Works for Abolition Curatorial Committee includes: Ashara Ekundayo (Curator), Hans Kuzmich, Jess Heaney, Maya Futrell, Mieke Marple, Shirley Leslie, T Rasheed, * William Ramirez

Closes on October 14, 2020 at 4:00pm EDT (1:00pm PDT).

Live bidding begins on October 13, 2020 at 9:30pm EDT (6:30pm PDT).